Not this again…

Yeah, more talk of a Liberal-NDP merger…

For full disclosure, I’m a Conservative. I’d like nothing more than to see this issue get completely blown out of proportion – and thanks to individuals like the outspoken Winnipeg Centre MP Pat Martin, it has.

Martin suggested that he might seek the NDP leadership to allow its members to vote for somebody who is willing to merge the parties. He said, “If none of them throw it on the table, I’ll do it myself.”

Let’s cut right to the chase. I realize that the NDP Caucus has a slew of new and inexperienced members, but I’d like to believe that even they have common-sense enough to realize that this is a fanciful idea that they shouldn’t pursue. Talk of a merger is truly destabilizing to their caucus at a time when it must pick a new leader, and organize itself as a credible and effective Official Opposition.

The Liberals would love nothing more than to fuel talk of a merger – even if it’s not serious – as a means to destabilize their left-of-centre rivals. If the NDP flounders, the Liberals stand to gain.

I agree with ChriSelley‘s assertion that the NDP should be talking about cooperation rather than merging. A merger would certainly destroy the tremendous gains Jack Layton and the NDP made in the last federal election and would be ill-advised despite Martin’s latest musings to the contrary.

About David Driedger

I'm a Creative Communications student at Red River College majoring in public relations. I have a BA with a double major in political studies and history from the University of Manitoba. I'm also the news editor for The Projector.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not this again…

  1. Dave, thanks for the post. If my memory serves me correctly it wasn’t that long ago that the parties other than the federal Conservative were talking about cooperation (coalition), and we all know what an “invocation of boogie man” Mr. Harper and his minions were able to spin in the media with that one. If my memory serves me correctly Mr. Harper himself cobbled together a united Right. Politics is responsive to change. Perhaps Mr. Martin has a sense of a current public sensibility?

Leave a Reply

