I honestly don’t get it

Is this for real? If so, these are the worst commercials I’ve ever seen…

Herman Cain.

I must confess, I knew very little about him before Gloria Allred got involved. Ever since, Cain’s been busy dodging allegations of improprieties and extra-marital affairs on a nearly daily basis.

But, regardless of alleged bad behaviour, I was always confused as to his appeal with Republican voters. He seems very aloof, and – dare I say – daft. After seeing one of his promotional commercials, I was even more puzzled.

I didn’t quite understand what to make of the cigarette ad. It seemed to be really odd for a man running for the Republican nomination. But then, I saw another one of Cain’s “commercials”, and was left even more confounded. Entitled “He Carried Yellow Flowers” and running at almost four minutes, is odd.

This man, who for a time was the front-runner in the nomination battle, produced two of the worst advertisements I’ve ever seen. I was left even more horribly confused as to his appeal.

I was confused until I saw a Rachel Maddow’s take on Cain’s campaign, in which she calls it a “performance art piece.” She references the fact that he quoted Pokemon in the debate, and used SimCity’s tax structure as his financial blueprint.

Is Cain’s campaign performance art? I don’t know, but Maddow might be on to something because frankly, I don’t have any other explanation for Cain’s zany antics.

About David Driedger

I'm a Creative Communications student at Red River College majoring in public relations. I have a BA with a double major in political studies and history from the University of Manitoba. I'm also the news editor for The Projector.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I honestly don’t get it

  1. Jess Chapman says:

    The party line on this sort of behavior is generally as follows: “He’s an unconventional candidate, so it’s OK for him to run an unconventional campaign.” That only works when the candidate in question doesn’t have this much baggage.

Leave a Reply

